xubuntu on Acer Aspire 5315 – overheating issue

I installed xubuntu on Acer Aspire 5315, and after ten minutes using the system it just powered off without notice. Sniffing the air I noticed a bit of a toast smell, yes, the laptop overheated, the fan was not working properly.

The bios version was v1.33 and there is an update available, v1.45, that would solve this issue but it has to be ran from a Windows operating systems, and I have a xubuntu currently installed. So, what I did was to download the free tool Hiren’s BootCD and burn it to a USB pen drive using Universal USB Installer (yes, I know this is  a Windows tool, I cheated by using my job’s laptop).

I also copied the BIOS v1.45 exe file to the pen drive. Back to the old Acer Aspire 5315, booted from the pen drive to a mini XP operating system from where I ran the BIOS v1.45 update installer. Reboot et voila, no more toasting laptop.

Sources:

 

Leave a Reply

